TUCSON CACTUS AND SUCCULENT SOCIETY

Log in


OUR COMMITTEES AND TEAMS

We have several Committees and Teams, some are very active and some do not require many others to help.  See descriptions below to see where you might be able to help out.


COMMITTEE AND TEAM LEADERS

The following are chaired by TCSS Members.  A few of them only require one person but they sometimes call on others to help out with a given task or project. You can contact a leader by using their email address.

Cactus Rescue Crew: Donna Ellis       Cactus@TucsonCactus.org

Membership: Richard Wiedhopf    President@TucsonCactus.org
Conservation: Thomas Staudt Conservation@TucsonCactus.org Pima Prickly Park: Linda Heisley    Park@TucsonCactus.org
Education Outreach, School Grants: Kris Thompson    Education@TucsonCactus.org 
Rescue Plant Sales: Crystal Cannon  Sales@TucsonCactus.org
Field Guide: Susan and John Durham  Books@tucsoncactus.org Programs: Vonn Watkins 
Programs@TucsonCactus.org
Field Trips: Rob Romero 
Trips@tucsoncactus.org
Refreshments: Patsy Frannea   Refreshments@TucsonCactus.org
Free Plants, Raffle & Door Prizes: Donna Ellis   Plants@tucsoncactus.org Research Grants Program: Doug Rowsell 
Research@TucsonCactus.org
Garden Tours: Patsy Frannea 
Tours@tucsoncactus.org
Technology: Steve Watts
Technology@tucsoncactus.org
Library: Brad Haeckel 
Librarian@TucsonCactus.org
Vendors: Dale Johnson 
Vendors@tucsoncactus.org
Meeting Videos & Facebook: Peter Ertman 
MeetingVideos@tucsoncactus.org
Web Site: Barbara Watts  
WebMaster@TucsonCactus.org


DESCRIPTIONS OF THE MAIN ACTIVITIES OF OUR COMMITTEES AND TEAMS

(Committee Chairs and Team Leads will be asked to write their own descriptions)

Notes: One * means only 1 or 2 people needed, ** means several, *** means lots. Those in BOLD always need Help.  Click on a Committee or Team name for a description.

CACTUS RESCUE CREW ***

The Tucson Cactus and Succulent Society Cactus Rescue Crew saves cacti and other native plants that would otherwise be destroyed during the development of native land. 

Some plants go home with crew members, some are transplanted to Pima Prickly Park or Desert Haven Park, and some are sold to members. Some sales are open to the public.

All TCSS Members are eligible to join us in our cactus rescue activities.  Just check the Cactus Rescue box in your Member Profile (you must log-in to your account, click on person icon, top right corner) and you will start receiving rescue email notices.

CONSERVATION *

EDUCATION OUTREACH & SCHOOL GRANTS ***

FIELD GUIDE *

The "Field Guide To Cacti & Other Succulents Of Arizona" was written by six very knowledgeable members for the purpose of providing an up to date and comprehensive book covering all the natives in Arizona.  It is available to purchase online, at our events and at many bookstores. 

FIELD TRIPS *

FREE PLANTS, RAFFLE & DOOR PRIZES *

GARDEN TOURS **

TCSS Garden Tours are called “Pop-Up Tours”. These are individual garden tours on scheduled Saturdays throughout the year per the owners choice. Normally there will be only one garden on the tour but possibly two if they are in close proximity.

LIBRARY *

Our Myrtle Ethington Library is a collection of Cactus and Succulent books that are often hard to find and many are out of print.  These books are available for TCSS Members to check out.

MEETING VIDEOS & FACEBOOK *

MEMBERSHIP *

PIMA PRICKLY PARK ***

A Pima County park being developed in partnership with Tucson Cactus & Succulent Society

  • ·         Main entrance - 3500 W. River Road, Tucson, AZ 85741
  • ·         Volunteer entrance - 5846 N. Camino De La Tierra, Tucson, AZ 85741

 The park is the daily activity center for

  • ·         Learning - hands on activities for volunteers as we develop and maintain each garden area of the park. Join one of the garden teams today!
  • ·         Teaching - regular classes are announced on the Park Events page and volunteers are constantly sharing information as we develop and maintain each garden area of the park.
  • ·         Conservation - most plants in the 7-acre park are rescued from construction sites where they would have been destroyed.  

    Volunteering is an opportunity for TCSS members to give back to the Tucson community while developing some great hands-on skills and knowledge. Join us?

    PLANT SALES ***

    Plants from our cactus rescue program are sold at various sales throughout the year depending on the availability of plants. 

    Members typically have first priority at these sales and we open sales to the public if our rescue plant inventory allows.

    PROGRAMS *

    REFRESHMENTS **

    RESEARCH GRANTS PROGRAM *

    To support our mission of increasing and disseminating knowledge of cacti and succulents, TCSS has established a research grant program to help fund research by others directly related to cactus and other succulents in our areas of interest.

    TECHNOLOGY *

    VENDORS *

    WEB SITE *

    Tucson Cactus and Succulent Society (TCSS)

    PO Box 64759  -  Tucson, AZ 85728-4759   -   Phone: (520) 256-2447  -  Email: TCSS@TucsonCactus.org

    Note: You can "Find" text in any document being displayed, just hold down the Ctrl key, then press the  F key.   Also, the Search box at the top of this page can be used to search this entire web site but it does not search inside documents like Newsletters.          

    © 2021  TCSS  All Rights Reserved. 

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software